Monaco Grand Prix 2024 Schedule

Monaco Grand Prix 2024 : Schedule and Preview


The 2024 Monaco Grand Prix is crucial, with pole position likely determining the race winner. This weekend’s event in the Principality promises thrilling action and strategic battles.

The 2024 F1 season reaches its first third with the eighth round of the year, one of the most significant events: the Monaco Grand Prix, which will take place this weekend in the Principality.

As is often the case in Monaco, Saturday’s qualifying session will be crucial, determining an essential starting grid. Similar to Imola, overtaking will be exceedingly difficult, even if performance is compromised by tyre degradation.

the track of Monaco Grand Prix 2024 Schedule

Pirelli is bringing the softest tyres, with the C5, C4, and C3 compounds. This is a customary choice in the Principality, given the slow pace and the minimally abrasive asphalt.

The Circuit

“It’s like trying to ride a bicycle around your living room.” This quote, attributed to Nelson Piquet, epitomises the immense challenge that is Monaco. The track rewards confidence and precision but punishes any mistake or lapse in concentration.

With a length of 3337 meters, Monaco’s circuit is the shortest on the calendar, featuring 19 corners with bumps, cambers, and manhole covers typical of streets transformed into a racetrack.

Turn 1 – Sainte Dévote is a very tight corner with little runoff, notorious for numerous incidents over the years. Drivers must stay vigilant while avoiding the dreaded wall on the outside. The bumps and braking increase the risk of front-end lockups.

Turn 4 – Between Casino (T4) and Mirabeau (T5), the bumpy track requires a trajectory change and a right-hand flick to avoid bottoming out on the descent to Mirabeau.

Turn 9 – The tunnel, negotiated at full throttle, is the fastest part of the circuit. The contrast between natural and artificial light requires a split-second adaptation before it reverses. A good line is crucial before braking for the chicane.

Turn 10 – Exiting the tunnel towards the chicane is a prime overtaking spot. It’s a real opportunity to pressure an opponent but also a chance to make a mistake.

Turn 14 – This very fast section’s entry forms a chicane where the curbs are highly useful for shaving off a few milliseconds.

Turn 17 – La Rascasse, named after the restaurant, is the second slowest part of the circuit. Cars approach the inside rail closely. Braking and precision are essential to maintain traction through Antony Noghès and the end of the lap.

Turn 19 – The Pit Straight

With so few overtaking opportunities, a good exit from the final corner (Antony Noghès) is crucial before crossing the line. Achieving this requires optimal traction and precise throttle management.

Forces in Play

After two fiercely contested races, it is difficult to declare Max Verstappen the clear favourite for this year’s Monaco Grand Prix. Last year, he secured pole position but was only a tenth of a second ahead of three other drivers.

In the race, he won despite a few scares in treacherous conditions. With McLaren and Ferrari now matching his times in both qualifying and race conditions, securing pole position will be more crucial than ever for a shot at another victory.

Behind this trio, Mercedes is expected to be the fourth strongest team, although Aston Martin has prepared for Monaco with extensive real-world testing during the race at Imola. As always, the midfield battle will be tight on this short circuit, leading to minimal time gaps.

Schedule of the Monaco Grand Prix

The unique aspect of the Monaco Grand Prix is that, for the past two years, it has lost its traditional peculiarities. The practice sessions, once held on Thursday, have moved to Friday, aligning the schedule with standard European timings.

DateSessionTime (Local)
Friday, May 24Free Practice 11:30 – 2:30
Free Practice 25:00 – 6:00
Saturday, May 25Free Practice 312:30 – 1:30
Qualifying4:00 – 5:00
Sunday, May 26Race3:00 – 5:00

Monaco Grand Prix Winners

2023Max VerstappenRed BullHonda
2022Sergio PérezRed BullHonda
2021Sergio PérezRed BullHonda
2021Max VerstappenRed BullHonda
2019Lewis HamiltonMercedesMercedes
2018Daniel RicciardoRed BullRenault
2017Sebastian VettelFerrariFerrari
2016Lewis HamiltonMercedesMercedes
2015Nico RosbergMercedesMercedes
2014Nico RosbergMercedesMercedes
2013Nico RosbergMercedesMercedes
2012Mark WebberRed BullRenault
2011Sebastian VettelRed BullRenault
2010Mark WebberRed BullRenault
2009Jenson ButtonBrawn GPMercedes
2008Lewis HamiltonMcLarenMercedes
2007Fernando AlonsoMcLarenMercedes
2006Fernando AlonsoRenaultRenault
2005Kimi RäikkönenMcLarenMercedes
2004Jarno TrulliRenaultRenault
2003Juan Pablo MontoyaWilliamsBMW
2002David CoulthardMcLarenMercedes
2001Michael SchumacherFerrariFerrari
2000David CoulthardMcLarenMercedes
1999Michael SchumacherFerrariFerrari
1998Mika HäkkinenMcLarenMercedes
1997Michael SchumacherFerrariFerrari
1996Olivier PanisLigierMugen Honda
1995Michael SchumacherBenettonRenault
1994Michael SchumacherBenettonFord
1993Ayrton SennaMcLarenFord
1992Ayrton SennaMcLarenHonda
1991Ayrton SennaMcLarenHonda
1990Ayrton SennaMcLarenHonda
1989Ayrton SennaMcLarenHonda
1988Alain ProstMcLarenHonda
1987Ayrton SennaLotusHonda
1986Alain ProstMcLarenTAG
1985Alain ProstMcLarenTAG
1984Alain ProstMcLarenTAG
1983Keke RosbergWilliamsFord
1982Riccardo PatreseBrabhamFord
1981Gilles VilleneuveFerrariFerrari
1980Carlos ReutemannWilliamsFord
1979Jody ScheckterFerrariFerrari
1978Patrick DepaillerTyrrellFord
1977Jody ScheckterWolfFord
1976Niki LaudaFerrariFerrari
1975Niki LaudaFerrariFerrari
1974Ronnie PetersonLotusFord
1973Jackie StewartTyrrellFord
1972Jean-Pierre BeltoiseBRMBRM
1971Jackie StewartTyrrellFord
1970Jochen RindtLotusFord
1969Graham HillLotusFord
1968Graham HillLotusFord
1967Denny HulmeBrabhamRepco
1966Jackie StewartBRMBRM
1965Graham HillBRMBRM
1964Graham HillBRMBRM
1963Graham HillBRMBRM
1962Bruce McLarenCooperClimax
1961Stirling MossLotusClimax
1960Stirling MossLotusClimax
1959Jack BrabhamCooperClimax
1958Maurice TrintignantCooperClimax
1957Juan Manuel FangioMaseratiMaserati
1956Stirling MossMaseratiMaserati
1955Maurice TrintignantFerrariFerrari
1950Juan Manuel FangioAlfa RomeoAlfa Romeo

Monaco Grand Prix 2024 : Schedule and Preview Monaco Grand Prix 2024 : Schedule and Preview. F1 Monaco Grand Prix 2024 : Schedule and Preview

Next Race
Spanish GP20 - 23 Jun
Race 2:00
Upcoming Events
Date Race
Go toTop