Gunther Wins Tokyo E-Prix

Günther Wins Tokyo E-Prix, Shakes Up FE Lead


Maximilian Günther clinched victory, overtaking Oliver Rowland and affecting the championship dynamics as Pascal Wehrlein takes the lead.

The young German Maximilian Günther (Maserati) outpaced pole-sitter Oliver Rowland (Nissan) to win the Tokyo E-Prix, as his compatriot Pascal Wehrlein (Porsche) took the championship lead.

This inaugural FIA Formula E World Championship event in Japan nearly saw victory for the local marque Nissan, with Rowland in pole position, but the British driver used too much energy early in the race to fend off Günther in the final laps.

Securing third on the podium, reigning champion Jake Dennis (Andretti) made a significant move in the overall standings where Wehrlein, finishing fifth behind teammate Antonio Félix da Costa (Porsche), now shares the lead in the championship with Nick Cassidy (Jaguar).

The New Zealander made an impressive recovery, climbing from nineteenth on the grid to seventh at the checkered flag, engaging in some robust duels along the way.

Edo Mortara (Mahindra), finishing sixth, was later disqualified for excessive energy use, promoting his fellow countryman Nico Müller (ABT) to sixth, followed by Cassidy, Robin Frijns (Envision), Sergio Sette Camara (ERT), and Sacha Fenestraz (Nissan) rounding out the top 10, with Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Penske) just missing out on points.

Günther, driving a DS-powered Maserati, becomes the season’s fifth winner in as many races, in a competition that saw eight different teams score points. The FE series heads next to the Misano road circuit for a double-header E-Prix on April 13 and 14.

Günther Wins Tokyo E-Prix, Shakes Up FE Lead. Günther Wins Tokyo E-Prix, Shakes Up FE Lead


Go toTop