Take a Look Back at Red Bull Racing’s Five F1 Titles

Red Bull Racing, a prominent name in Formula 1, has secured a total of four world titles with Sebastian Vettel in 2010, 2011, 2012, and 2013. Adding to its legacy, Max Verstappen brought home another world title in 2021.

Red Bull F1 Racing

In 2022, Verstappen triumphed once again, clinching both the driver’s championship and the team’s fifth constructor’s title.

For the 2023 season, Red Bull Racing maintains its driver lineup with Max Verstappen and Sergio Pérez, consistent with the previous two years. Christian Horner continues to lead the team as the team principal.

In the 2023 season, Red Bull Racing competes with the RB19 and utilizes in-house engines, taking over the production of Honda engines after the Japanese manufacturer exited Formula 1.

Establishment of the Austrian Team

Red Bull Racing entered the Formula 1 scene in 2005, taking over the license from Jaguar Racing, which ceased its Formula 1 activities due to the withdrawal of Ford’s sponsorship. Towards the end of 2005, Dietrich Mateschitz, the owner of the Red Bull conglomerate, acquired the Formula 1 team from Minardi.

Starting in 2006, this team adopted the name Scuderia Toro Rosso, translating to ‘Team Red Bull’ in Italian. Toro Rosso primarily serves as a development team for Red Bull Racing. In 2005, Red Bull Racing’s drivers were David Coulthard and Christian Klien.

The following year, the team retained the same lineup, but Dutch driver Robert Doornbos replaced Klien in the last three races of the season. However, Doornbos was replaced by Mark Webber for the 2007 season. Between 2005 and 2008, Red Bull Racing established itself in the midfield with occasional podium finishes. After sister team Toro Rosso outperformed Red Bull Racing in 2008, alarm bells rang.

In 2009, with the expertise of designer Adrian Newey, Red Bull Racing built a formidable car that propelled the team to the top. Sebastian Vettel secured the team’s first victory in China that year. It marked the beginning of a successful era, with Vettel narrowly missing the championship in 2009 but clinching it in 2010.

Red Bull F1 Racing – Continued Success with Vettel

Vettel and Red Bull Racing continued their dominance in the following three seasons, securing championships in 2011, 2012, and 2013.

The 2014 season posed challenges due to the transition from V8 engines to hybrid V6 power units. Vettel failed to win a race and was outperformed by new teammate Daniel Ricciardo, who won three races. Vettel moved to Ferrari for 2015, and Red Bull Racing brought in Daniil Kvyat. However, the team did not secure a victory in the 2015 season.

The arrival of Max Verstappen in 2016 revitalized the team. Verstappen clinched back-to-back championships in 2021 and 2022. His victory in the 2021 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, overtaking Lewis Hamilton in the final lap, was particularly remarkable. In 2022, Verstappen’s dominance led to winning the championship with four races to spare at the Honda-owned Suzuka Circuit in Japan.

Red Bull F1 Racing Red Bull F1 Racing Red Bull F1 Racing Red Bull F1 Racing

You May like Also – Mercedes-AMG PETRONAS F1 Team

following us on Facebook and Twitter.

Go toTop