Abu Dhabi Grand Prix – Racing Royalty in the Desert Oasis

On Sunday, November 26, 2023, the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix will conclude the season, hosted at the Yas Marina Circuit, a long-standing tradition for the season finale in Abu Dhabi.

Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Yas Marina Circuit

The Yas Marina Circuit, the exclusive track in Abu Dhabi, boasts twenty corners over a length of 5.554 kilometers, with racing taking place counterclockwise. Designed by Hermann Tilke, known for his work on multiple 2022 calendar circuits, the layout comprises a brief first sector with four corners, where Red Bull typically performs well. The middle segment features two extended straight stretches, emphasizing the importance of engine performance. The final section is a technical, twisty portion, favoring Red Bull’s strengths.

Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

During the 2019 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, Max Verstappen delivered a commendable performance. Initially trailing Charles Leclerc in the Ferrari, Verstappen eventually secured the second position in the latter part of the race. In 2018, he achieved a podium finish, claiming third place. These remain Verstappen’s top finishes in the season’s ultimate race.

In 2020, Verstappen clinched pole position in qualifying. Throughout the race, he displayed dominance, maintaining his lead on Sunday to secure victory. Crossing the finish line first, he was followed by Valtteri Bottas and Lewis Hamilton, completing the podium. This marked Verstappen’s tenth Grand Prix win with Red Bull.

The 2021 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix witnessed a dramatic championship showdown between Hamilton and Verstappen. With both drivers tied in points, the one finishing higher in the race would secure the title. Verstappen, starting from pole position, faced challenges as Hamilton quickly took the lead. The British driver seemed on track to clinch the title until Nicholas Latifi’s late-race crash prompted a safety car.

Capitalizing on the opportunity, Verstappen made a strategic tire change during the safety car period. When the safety car withdrew, Verstappen swiftly overtook Hamilton, crossing the finish line first. This victory marked Verstappen’s first-ever world championship title in a thrilling climax to the season.

2022Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing
2021Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing
2020Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing
2019Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2018Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2017Valtteri BottasMercedes

You may also like – Las Vegas Grand Prix

following us on Facebook and Twitter

Go toTop