Canadian Grand Prix – An Iconic Circuit

Once again, the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve will host the 2023 Canadian race, scheduled for June 18. The coronavirus disrupted the Grand Prix, leading to cancellations in 2020 and 2021. The complete Formula 1 calendar for 2023 is available here.

Canada hosts the Grand Prix, initially a sports car race from 1961 to 1966 and later joining the Formula 1 World Championship in 1967.

Since 1978, the Gilles Villeneuve Circuit on Notre-Dame Island in the middle of the Saint Lawrence River in Montreal has hosted the race.

Canadian Grand Prix

The Circuit Gilles Villeneuve for the Canadian Grand Prix, situated on an artificial island in Montreal, the largest city in Quebec, spans 4.361 kilometers and showcases 15 turns. Gilles Villeneuve, for whom the circuit is named, triumphantly won the inaugural race on this track, sparking ecstatic reactions from the crowd. The current lap record, set in 2019 with a time of 1:13.078, belongs to Valtteri Bottas.

Max Verstappen has graced the podium in Canadian Grand Prix on one occasion. In 2018, he secured a third-place finish, a noteworthy achievement following a previous year’s Did Not Finish (DNF) due to an electrical problem. The 2019 race saw Verstappen clinching the fourth position after a remarkable performance. A crash by Kevin Magnussen in Q2 prevented Verstappen from setting a time to advance to Q3, forcing him to start from the eleventh position.

Canadian Grand Prix F1 2019

In the 2019 Canadian Grand Prix, Sebastian Vettel secured pole position for the first time that season. While leading the race, he veered into the grass on the 48th lap at turn 4 under pressure from Lewis Hamilton. Quickly regaining control of his Ferrari, Vettel rejoined the track, narrowly avoiding a collision with Hamilton. The FIA deemed this maneuver unsafe, imposing a 5-second penalty on Vettel. Despite crossing the finish line first, Vettel couldn’t extend his lead over Hamilton by more than 5 seconds. Consequently, Hamilton was awarded the victory through a penalty. Frustrated, Vettel expressed his discontent by swapping the position boards in the parc fermé, placing the number 2 ahead of Hamilton’s car.

Last Five Winners

2022Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing
2019Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2018Sebastian VettelFerrari
2017Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2016Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2015Lewis HamiltonMercedes

You may also like –  Spanish Grand Prix

following us on Facebook and Twitter

Go toTop