Ferrari Secures Victory at Le Mans

Ferrari Denies Toyota Le Mans Win in Nail-Biting Finish


In a dramatic, rain-drenched 2024 Le Mans, Ferrari’s #50 car, helmed by Fuoco, Molina, and Nielsen, outpaced Toyota’s #7.

Ferrari retains its crown! After a year devoid of victory in the FIA World Endurance Championship since last year’s Le Mans 24 Hours, the Italian manufacturer has reclaimed glory with a triumphant return to victory in Sarthe this Sunday.

Ferrari Secures Victory at Le Mans

Following the number 51 team of Antonio Giovinazzi, Alessandro Pier Guidi, and James Calado in 2023, it was Antonio Fuoco, Miguel Molina, and Nicklas Nielsen who clinched this year’s title at the wheel of the number 50.

The Dane crossed the finish line victoriously, concluding a masterful strategy by Ferrari, which made its final stop 50 minutes from the end. José Maria Lopez was hot on the heels of the 499P, but a spin and a power issue thwarted Toyota number 7’s chances, which he shares with Kamui Kobayashi and Nyck de Vries.

Ferrari Secures Victory at Le Mans

Ferrari rounded off the podium with number 51 ahead of the leading Porsche. The German manufacturer narrowly missed the podium despite an impressive start to the WEC season.

Among the French manufacturers, Alpine and Peugeot fell short. The marque with the arrowed A suffered double retirements due to engine problems, while the firm from Sochaux finished just outside the points in 11th and 12th place, notably beaten by Lamborghini in 10th.

Ferrari Secures Victory at Le Mans

Even though they are no longer part of the WEC in 2024, the LM P2 cars were accepted at the 24 Hours of Le Mans and maintained suspense until the return of rain midday on Sunday.

It was then that Oliver Jarvis (Oreca number 22) drew on his experience to take the lead. The Briton propelled the United Autosports car to first place and smoothly reached the finish, securing a second victory for the English team after 2020.

Oliver Jarvis, who previously won the LM P2 class in 2017 with Jackie Chan DC Racing, shares this latest victory with American rookies Nolan Siegel (aged 19) and Bijoy Garg (aged 21).

Jarvis Garg & Siegel take LMP2 victory at Le Mans

The defending champions, Inter Europol Competition, narrowly failed to defend their title. The Polish team finished second with French rookie Clément Novalak, the Russian under a French licence Vlad Lomko, and the Pole Jakub Smiechowski.

Third place was awarded to Idec Sport, with a crew comprising the Frenchmen Paul Lafargue, Reshad de Gerus, and the Dutchman Job van Uitert. The Pro-Am class victory went to AF Corse, with French gentleman driver François Perrodo, the Englishman Ben Barnicoat, and the Argentine Nicolas Verrone, winners in GTE Am in 2023. Poleman Louis Delétraz (AO by TF) settled for sixth position with PJ Hyett and Alex Quinn.

Porsche and Manthey Racing EMA emerged as the first winners of the 24H du Mans in this new LMGT3 era! The trio Yasser Shahin – Morris Schuring – Richard Lietz performed splendidly aboard the Porsche GT3-R number 91.

Manthey EMA claims historic Le Mans victory for LMGT3 event debut

Despite the unfolding events, race neutralisations, and weather conditions, the German mount took command of the race early in the morning – notably due to mechanical issues with its sister car, the Porsche Manthey PureRxcing number 92 – and never relinquished control.

For Richard Lietz, it marks his fifth victory at the 24 Hours of Le Mans after triumphs in 2007, 2010 (GT2), and 2013 and 2022 (GTE Pro), all with Porsche. Yasser Shahin and Morris Schuring clinched their maiden Le Mans win on their first attempt. The Manthey Team also secured its second crown at Le Mans after its victory in 2013 in the GTE-Pro category… with none other than Richard Lietz once again.

The BMW number 31 trio of Sean Gelael – Darren Leung – Augusto Farfus clinched second place and a podium that salvaged the honour of the WRT clan this weekend (with the retirement of the BMW number 46 in LMGT3 and a double retirement in Hypercar). A modest consolation as the BMW M4 GT3 appeared to be in the running for the victory.

On its return to Le Mans – and for the Mustang GT3’s first appearance in Sarthe – Ford and Proton Competition clinched a surprising third place with the number 88 crew of Dennis Olsen, Mikkel Pedersen, and Giorgio Roda. The American manufacturer even achieved a very satisfactory overall result with the fourth place of Ford number 44, ahead of the Iron Dames.

In his first participation at the 24 Hours of Le Mans, Valentino Rossi did not see the race finish. The BMW number 46 retired during the night in the Mulsanne Esses following a crash by his teammate Ahmad Al-Harthy.

Ferrari Secures Victory at Le Mans Against Toyota #7

Ferrari Secures Victory at Le Mans Against Toyota #7. Ferrari Secures Victory at Le Mans Against Toyota #7. WEC 2024 Ferrari Secures Victory at Le Mans Against Toyota #7


Next Race
Hungarian GP18 Jul - 21 Jul
Race 2:00
Upcoming Events
Date Race
Go toTop