Verstappen Secures 2024 Australian GP Pole

Verstappen Sweeps Season’s Start with 3rd Pole Win


Max Verstappen secured his third pole position of the season, marking a clean sweep in the opening three Grands Prix, this Saturday in Australia.

Max Verstappen delivered a strong performance during the Australian Grand Prix qualifying to claim the 35th pole position of his career, his third consecutive this season.

The three-time Formula 1 World Champion will start at the front of the Australian Grand Prix grid, ahead of Carlos Sainz’s Ferrari, who had to withdraw from Jeddah due to an appendicitis flare-up.

Confirming his excellent form at the start of the season, Sergio Pérez set the third-fastest time in the timed session, outpacing Lando Norris’s McLaren and Charles Leclerc’s Ferrari. Speaking immediately after the session ended over the radio, the Monégasque driver expressed clear disappointment with his performance, having aimed for the pole.

Oscar Piastri, one of the two locals, will start from the sixth position on the grid ahead of George Russell and Yuki Tsunoda. The Aston Martins of Lance Stroll and Fernando Alonso successfully secured the fifth row.

Meanwhile, Lewis Hamilton was eliminated just shy of Q3. The seven-time Formula 1 World Champion will start eleventh tomorrow.

The Australian Grand Prix will commence at 05:00 French time on Sunday.

Qualifying Results for the 2024 Australian F1 Grand Prix:

01Max VerstappenRed Bull Honda RBPT RB201:16.8191:16.3871:15.915
02Carlos SainzFerrari SF-241:16.7311:16.1891:16.185
03Sergio PérezRed Bull Honda RBPT RB201:16.8051:16.6311:16.274
04Lando NorrisMcLaren Mercedes MCL381:17.4301:16.7501:16.315
05Charles LeclercFerrari SF-241:16.9841:16.3041:16.435
06Oscar PiastriMcLaren Mercedes MCL381:17.3691:16.6011:16.572
07George RussellMercedes W151:17.0621:16.9011:16.724
08Yuki TsunodaRB Honda RBPT VCARB 011:17.3561:16.7911:16.788
09Lance StrollAston Martin Mercedes AMR241:17.3761:16.7801:17.072
10Fernando AlonsoAston Martin Mercedes AMR241:16.9911:16.7101:17.552
11Lewis HamiltonMercedes W151:17.4991:16.960
12Alex AlbonWilliams Mercedes FW461:17.1301:17.167
13Valtteri BottasStake F1 Kick Sauber C441:17.5431:17.340
14Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari VF-241:17.7091:17.427
15Esteban OconAlpine Renault A5241:17.6171:17.697
16Nico HülkenbergHaas Ferrari VF-241:17.976
17Pierre GaslyAlpine Renault A5241:17.982
18Daniel RicciardoRB Honda RBPT VCARB 011:18.085
19Guanyu ZhouStake F1 Kick Sauber C441:18.188

Verstappen Secures 2024 Australian GP Pole

Verstappen Secures 2024 Australian GP Pole


Go toTop