Sainz Seizes Aussie GP Victory After Verstappen's Exit

Sainz Seizes Aussie GP Victory After Verstappen’s Exit


Carlos Sainz capitalized on Max Verstappen’s retirement to secure Ferrari’s first victory of the season this Sunday in Australia.

Two weeks after being forced to miss the Saudi Arabian Grand Prix due to an appendicitis flare-up, Carlos Sainz made a striking comeback this weekend in Melbourne by winning the Australian Grand Prix!

The Spaniard took advantage of Max Verstappen’s early exit, who lost his brakes in the initial laps, to claim his third Formula 1 career victory.

Unchallenged for the win, Sainz crossed the Australian Grand Prix finish line two seconds ahead of teammate Charles Leclerc, who completed an astonishing one-two for Ferrari.

Lando Norris secured a podium for McLaren in third place. The Brit outpaced his teammate Oscar Piastri and Sergio Pérez’s Red Bull at the checkered flag. Starting seventh on the grid, Checo couldn’t salvage the day for Red Bull after the team leader’s withdrawal.

Fernando Alonso, finishing sixth, once again earned significant points for Aston Martin early in the season. He ended the Australian Grand Prix just ahead of his Aston Martin teammate Lance Stroll, who had a solid race.

The top 10 of this third season event was rounded off by Yuki Tsunoda’s AlphaTauri and the Haas cars of Nico Hülkenberg and Kevin Magnussen.

Note that the race concluded under a virtual safety car regime after George Russell, battling Alonso for sixth, lost control of his Mercedes and crashed into the wall. His teammate Lewis Hamilton had retired earlier in the Grand Prix due to an engine issue.

The next Formula 1 Grand Prix will take place at the Suzuka circuit in Japan, in two weeks.

2024 Australian Grand Prix F1 Standings:

01Carlos SainzFerrari SF-2450 tours – 1h20m26.843s2
02Charles LeclercFerrari SF-24+2.3662
03Lando NorrisMcLaren Mercedes MCL38+5.9042
04Oscar PiastriMcLaren Mercedes MCL38+35.7702
05Sergio PérezRed Bull Honda RBPT RB20+56.3092
06Fernando AlonsoAston Martin Mercedes AMR24+80.9922
07Lance StrollAston Martin Mercedes AMR24+93.2222
08Yuki TsunodaRB Honda RBPT VCARB 01+95.6012
09Nico HülkenbergHaas Ferrari VF-24+104.5532
10Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari VF-24+1 lap2
11Alex AlbonWilliams Mercedes FW46+1 lap2
12Daniel RicciardoRB Honda RBPT VCARB 01+1 lap2
13Pierre GaslyAlpine Renault A524+1 lap2
14Valtteri BottasStake F1 Kick Sauber C44+1 lap2
15Guanyu ZhouStake F1 Kick Sauber C44+1 lap2
16Esteban OconAlpine Renault A524+1 lap3
17George RussellMercedes W15+2
18Lewis HamiltonMercedes W15DNF1
19Max VerstappenRed Bull Honda RBPT RB20DNF1

Sainz Seizes Aussie GP Victory After Verstappen’s Exit. Sainz Seizes Aussie GP Victory After Verstappen’s Exit


Go toTop