Brazilian Grand Prix – F1 Samba Beats and High-Speed Feats

The 2023 Brazilian Grand Prix is set to take place on Sunday, November 5th at the Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace, commonly known as Interlagos. It marks the penultimate race of the 2023 season.

Brazilian Grand Prix

Interlagos, in Sao Paulo, boasts fifteen turns and stands as one of the shortest circuits at 4.309 kilometers. Designed by Louis Romero Sanson in collaboration with the Automobile Club de Brasil, the circuit came to life in 1939, featuring a clockwise layout.

The initial sector, characterized by the ‘Senna S,’ is brief, followed by a twisty middle sector. The extended straightaway is typically where the engine must shine. However, team differentials are generally smaller due to the circuit’s elevation of approximately 800 meters above sea level, Interlagos is a classic Red Bull circuit.

Verstappen in Brazil

In 2019, Max Verstappen secured victory in Brazil. With two outstanding overtaking maneuvers on Lewis Hamilton, the Red Bull driver claimed the gold, seeking redemption from the previous year. In 2018, Verstappen settled for silver after being nudged off the track by Esteban Ocon while leading the race. Verstappen fans also fondly remember the rain-soaked race in Brazil from 2016. The 2020 Brazilian Grand Prix was canceled due to the coronavirus.

Chaotic Return of the Brazilian Grand Prix

The Brazilian Grand Prix made a memorable return in 2021, marked by chaos that began during Friday’s qualifying. After all cars were placed in parc fermé, Verstappen decided to touch Hamilton’s rear wing. The Dutchman had doubts about the wing’s legality, and after FIA tests, it was revealed that Hamilton’s rear wing had opened too wide. The Briton was penalized and disqualified from qualifying, starting at the back during the sprint race. Verstappen also received a penalty for touching the rear wing, leading to a 50,000 euro fine.

In the sprint race, Hamilton, with his new engine, surged from tenth to fifth, overtaking multiple drivers. Despite a mid-race engine change, he triumphed in a spectacular battle with Verstappen, who finished second.

Brazilian Grand Prix F1 Brazilian Grand Prix F1

Recent victors of the Brazilian Grand Prix include:

2022George RussellMercedes
2021Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2019Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing
2018Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2017Sebastian VettelFerrari
2016Lewis HamiltonMercedes

You may also like – Mexico City Grand Prix

following us on Facebook and Twitter

Go toTop