Connect with us


MotoGP Showdown: Bagnaia Conquers Spanish GP, Bezzecchi Crashes Out



MotoGP Spanish Bagnaia win Jerez 2023

In a thrilling and dramatic Spanish Grand Prix, Pecco Bagnaia showcased his skill and determination, seizing victory and reclaiming the MotoGP championship lead. Amid intense battles, shocking crashes, and nail-biting moments, Bagnaia’s triumph marked a remarkable turnaround following his Americas Grand Prix crash.

In a skillful performance, Pecco Bagnaia claimed victory at the Spanish Grand Prix, while former MotoGP championship leader Marco Bezzecchi crashed out.

As a result, the factory Ducati rider has regained the lead in the standings, bouncing back from a crash in the Americas Grand Prix.

KTM teammates Jack Miller and Brad Binder took the lead at Turn 1, mirroring their sprint start, with Binder securing the lead at Turn 6 by overtaking Miller on the inside.

However, a frightening collision between Fabio Quartararo and Miguel Oliveira at Turn 2 resulted in a red flag.

Both riders were conscious after the crash, but Oliveira was sent to the medical center for examination, later being diagnosed with a dislocated left shoulder.

The riders returned to their original grid positions for the restart, as they did in Saturday’s sprint, with the two KTMs needing another strong start.


Quartararo was able to resume the race but was given a long-lap penalty due to his “irresponsible riding” during the collision with Oliveira.

Once again, the KTMs led the race, with Binder in front, followed by Miller and Pramac’s Jorge Martin.

Bagnaia wasted no time in challenging the leaders, moving into third place by the end of the first lap.

As the two KTMs dueled in the early stages of the race, Bagnaia caught up and overtook Miller on lap five, causing some frustration for the Australian as they made slight contact.

The reigning champion had to cede the position back to Miller due to the contact, while Binder maintained a comfortable lead.

As tire wear became a factor, Bezzecchi crashed at Turn 6, effectively losing the championship lead at Jerez. Pramac Ducati’s Johann Zarco also dropped out of the top five.

Bagnaia started pressuring race leader Binder with four laps remaining, overtaking him at the final corner by maneuvering his Ducati inside.


Binder attempted a comeback on the last lap at the final corner but was unsuccessful, and he, along with Miller, completed the top three.

Martin couldn’t overtake Miller’s KTM and settled for fourth place, followed by Espargaro, Luca Marini, and KTM wildcard Dani Pedrosa.

Alex Marquez finished in eighth place, trailed by LCR Honda’s Takaaki Nakagami.

Quartararo’s race didn’t improve after receiving another long-lap penalty for incorrectly serving the original one, but he managed a strong recovery to finish 10th, ahead of teammate Franco Morbidelli.

Fabio Di Giannantonio placed 12th, surpassing Augusto Fernandez and Stefan Bradl, while Raul Fernandez finished in the points, just 0.382s ahead of Honda substitute Iker Lecuona. Another injury replacement, Jonas Folger, trailed by 10 seconds in 17th place.

Alex Rins’ weekend paled in comparison to his Austin win, as he crashed on the first lap at Turn 9, followed shortly by factory Honda rider Joan Mir on lap two.

Maverick Vinales’ chain broke on his Aprilia during the race’s final lap, causing him to miss the finish.


The fourth round of the 2023 world championship Spanish MotoGP, Jerez – Race Results

1Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Lenovo (GP23)39m 29.085s
2Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)+0.221s
3Jack MillerAUSRed Bull KTM (RC16)+1.119s
4Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP23)+1.942s
5Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP23)+4.760s
6Luca MariniITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP22)+6.329s
7Dani PedrosaSPARed Bull KTM (RC16)+6.371s
8Alex MarquezSPAGresini Ducati (GP22)+14.952s
9Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+15.692s
10Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+15.846s
11Franco MorbidelliITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+17.209s
12Fabio Di GiannantonioITAGresini Ducati (GP22)+17.911s
13Augusto FernandezSPATech3 GASGAS (RC16)*+19.010s
14Stefan BradlGERTeam HRC (RC213V)+27.294s
15Raul FernandezSPARNF Aprilia (RS-GP22)+36.371s
16Iker LecuonaSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+36.753s
17Jonas FolgerGERTech3 GASGAS (RC16)+47.146s
Maverick ViñalesSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP23)DNF
Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP22)DNF
Marco BezzecchiITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP22)DNF
Alex RinsSPALCR Honda (RC213V)DNF
Joan MirSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)DNF
Miguel OliveiraPORRNF Aprilia (RS-GP22)DNS

MotoGP Spanish Bagnaia win Jerez 2023 MotoGP Spanish Bagnaia win Jerez 2023 MotoGP Spanish Bagnaia win Jerez 2023 MotoGP Spanish Bagnaia win Jerez 2023 MotoGP Spanish Bagnaia win Jerez 2023 MotoGP Spanish Bagnaia win Jerez 2023

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.