Connect with us


Azerbaijan 2023 – Bearman Conquers Pole with Damaged Car in F2



Azerbaijan 2023 Pole F2

Defying all odds, 17-year-old British driver Oliver Bearman secured a phenomenal pole position at the Azerbaijan Formula 2 Grand Prix on Friday.

Oliver Bearman achieved an impressive pole position at the Azerbaijan Formula 2 Grand Prix on Friday, despite having a damaged car and setting the quickest time.

The British driver surpassed Enzo Fittipaldi by slightly more than one hundredth of a second, placing first on the time sheets, with Theo Pourchaire finishing third and Frederik Vesti in fourth.

On Sunday’s race, Dennis Hauger, who seemed poised for pole position until the last run, will commence in fifth place, followed by Jehan Daruvala, Jak Crawford, and Victor Martins.

Completing the top 10 were Zane Maloney and Richard Verschoor, with the latter from the Netherlands starting Saturday’s sprint in the first position.

Qualifying experienced a minor delay after a hectic Formula 1 practice session. Early on, Brad Benavides made a hasty exit after crashing his Charouz car into the barrier at Turn 1.

Just before that, Jack Doohan had veered off at the same turn, with Victor Martins doing so shortly after. A red flag stoppage followed these incidents.


During this time, Oliver Bearman established the initial pace while Isaak Hadjar damaged his suspension by hitting the wall on the inside of Turn Five. His Hitech team, however, quickly repaired the Frenchman’s car, allowing him to rejoin the session for the final 10 minutes.

Late in the session, Bearman grazed the barrier while exiting Turn Two, causing his steering to be slightly misaligned.

Despite this setback, he demonstrated exceptional speed with a fantastic late run that placed him at the top of the timing charts.

The 17-year-old becomes the fourth different polesitter in this season’s four races. Both feature races in Bahrain and Australia were won from pole position earlier in the campaign, with victories by Theo Pourchaire and Ayumu Iwasa, respectively.

Azerbaijan 2023 Pole F2

F2 – Results from the Qualifying Session Azerbaijan 2023

1Ollie BearmanPrema1m52.652s12
2Emmo FittipaldiCarlin1m52.664s+0.012s13
3Theo PourchaireART Grand Prix1m52.705s+0.053s13
4Frederik VestiPrema1m52.723s+0.071s12
5Dennis HaugerMP Motorsport1m52.878s+0.226s13
6Jehan DaruvalaMP Motorsport1m53.066s+0.414s13
7Jak CrawfordHitech GP1m53.139s+0.487s12
8Victor MartinsART Grand Prix1m53.213s+0.561s13
9Zane MaloneyCarlin1m53.297s+0.645s13
10Richard VerschoorVan Amersfoort Racing1m53.459s+0.807s13
11Ralph BoschungCampos Racing1m53.637s+0.985s11
12Roman StanekTrident1m53.639s+0.987s11
13Arthur LeclercDAMS1m53.750s+1.098s11
14Kush MainiCampos Racing1m53.920s+1.268s10
15Juan M. CorreaVan Amersfoort Racing1m53.965s+1.313s13
16Jack DoohanVirtuosi Racing1m54.150s+1.498s13
17Ayumu IwasaDAMS1m54.217s+1.565s11
18Isack HadjarHitech GP1m54.291s+1.639s9
19Clement NovalakTrident1m54.409s+1.757s11
20Roy NissanyPHM by Charouz1m54.683s+2.031s12
21Amaury CordeelVirtuosi Racing1m55.548s+2.896s12
22Brad BenavidesPHM by Charouz2m25.091s

Azerbaijan 2023 – Bearman Conquers Pole with Damaged Car in F2 Azerbaijan 2023 – Bearman Conquers Pole with Damaged Car in F2 Azerbaijan 2023 – Bearman Conquers Pole with Damaged Car in F2

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.