Connect with us


Jaguar-powered cars dominate in intense battle for victory at Berlin E-Prix



Jaguar-powered cars dominate in intense battle for victory at Berlin E-Prix

The Berlin E-Prix double-header weekend was a rollercoaster of emotions and drama for Formula E fans. The first race saw an intense battle for the lead, with multiple drivers and teams taking their turn at the front. But it was Mitch Evans, in his Jaguar-powered car, who secured his second consecutive victory in the championship.

Mitch Evans secured his second consecutive victory in the Formula E championship by winning the first race of the Berlin E-Prix double-header weekend, which saw an intense battle for the lead with 23 lead changes among multiple drivers and teams.

In the end, it was a showdown between the two Jaguar-powered cars, with Sebastien Buemi leading the pack in the closing stages of the race.

However, Evans, who had started from ninth on the grid, made an impressive charge to the front and overtook his Jaguar teammate Sam Bird to claim second place. He then executed a daring move on Buemi by diving inside at the opening turn on the following lap to clinch the top spot.

On the final lap, Bird followed Evans’ lead and made an equally impressive move on Buemi to secure a factory Jaguar one-two, which was the team’s first ever in the Formula E championship. Buemi, on the other hand, missed out on his first podium with Envision after a scuffle with Guenther at the final corner, resulting in Guenther taking third place and his first points of the season.

Nick Cassidy had a turbulent race, which included a puncture after contact with Dan Ticktum, followed by a pitstop and dropping to the back of the field. Despite this setback, he showed remarkable resilience and managed to climb back up to fifth place. As a result, he is now the closest contender to Pascal Wehrlein in the championship standings. Wehrlein, who was able to avoid the chaos and stay out of trouble, finished in sixth place for Porsche.

Jean-Eric Vergne was spun out by Andre Lotterer but managed to recover and finish in seventh place, while Lotterer was penalized with a five-second penalty for the contact and finished in eighth place. The top 10 was rounded out by Edoardo Mortara, who had clashed with his Maserati teammate Guenther earlier in the race and expressed anger over the incident, and Oliver Rowland from the Mahindra team.


Former championship leader Jake Dennis suffered his fourth consecutive race without points when he lost control of his Avalanche Andretti car while attempting to overtake Maximilian Guenther at the final corner, resulting in a collision with Antonio Felix da Costa’s Porsche-powered car and causing terminal damage to both vehicles.

Meanwhile, Dan Ticktum had his most eventful race in Formula E, initially moving from fourth to first place on the opening lap with an impressive move on Buemi, but then began to slip back as NIO 333 tends to struggle over a race distance.

Ticktum’s race came to an abrupt end when he caused the second safety car of the race by unintentionally sending Stoffel Vandoorne into the wall, causing severe damage to both cars and ending their races.

Ticktum expressed frustration to his team, stating that he was taken out and there was nothing he could do about it, while Vandoorne was angry at Ticktum’s actions. Their collision also affected Nissan’s Norman Nato and McLaren’s Jake Hughes.

For McLaren, it was a disappointing race, with Rene Rast tapping a front wing-less Sergio Sette Camara (who had already lost his wing due to contact with Guenther) into Turn 1, effectively ending both drivers’ chances of scoring points. The stewards deemed Rast to be at fault for the incident and handed him a five-second penalty, but it didn’t change his finishing position of 17th and last on the road.

Results of the Formula E Berlin E-Prix double-header weekend

19Mitch EvansJaguarJaguar I-Type 6
210Sam BirdJaguarJaguar I-Type 6
37Maximilian GuentherMaseratiMaserati Tipo Folgore
416Sebastien BuemiEnvisionJaguar I-Type 6
537Nick CassidyEnvisionJaguar I-Type 6
694Pascal WehrleinPorschePorsche 99X Electric Gen3
725Jean-Eric VergneDS PenskeDS E-TENSE FE23
836Andre LottererAndrettiPorsche 99X Electric Gen3
948Edoardo MortaraMaseratiMaserati Tipo Folgore
108Oliver RowlandMahindraMahindra M9Electro
1111Lucas di GrassiMahindraMahindra M9Electro
1223Sacha FenestrazNissanNissan e-4ORCE 04
1317Norman NatoNissanNissan e-4ORCE 04
144Robin FrijnsAbt CupraMahindra M9Electro
1551Nico MuellerAbt CupraMahindra M9Electro
163Sergio Sette CamaraNIO 333NIO 333 ER9
1758Rene RastMcLarenNissan e-4ORCE 04
1827Jake DennisAndrettiPorsche 99X Electric Gen3
1913Antonio Felix da CostaPorschePorsche 99X Electric Gen3
205Jake HughesMcLarenNissan e-4ORCE 04
211Stoffel VandoorneDS PenskeDS E-TENSE FE23
2233Dan TicktumNIO 333NIO 333 ER9

Jaguar Berlin E-Prix Jaguar Berlin E-Prix Jaguar Berlin E-Prix Jaguar Berlin E-Prix

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.