Connect with us


Iwasa claims victory in the midst of chaos at Formula 2 Feature Race



Iwasa claims victory F2

In a thrilling Formula 2 Feature Race, Ayumu Iwasa emerged victorious amidst the chaos, while Theo Pourchaire secured second place. Meanwhile, newcomer Arthur Leclerc claimed the third spot in a race filled with unexpected incidents and surprises.

Ayumu Iwasa, a driver from the Red Bull Junior team, maintained his composure in the midst of the commotion during the Formula 2 Feature Race and emerged as the victor, starting from the front of the grid. Theo Pourchaire managed to steady his pursuit of the championship and secured second place. Meanwhile, newcomer Arthur Leclerc took third place, benefitting from a last-minute incident involving Dennis Hauger and Victor Martins.

Due to the unfavorable conditions throughout the weekend, the starting lineup for the feature race was somewhat disrupted by the wet qualifying session on Friday. On lap 8 of the race, there was a collision between Jack Doohan, the crowd favorite, and Jak Crawford, which resulted in Crawford crashing into the wall and retiring from the race, prompting the deployment of the first safety car. Doohan was able to salvage his challenging weekend by finishing the race in eighth place.

The drivers who had opted for the soft tire compound utilized the safety car period to make their mandatory pit stops. As a result, Frederik Vesti, driving for Prema, was able to take the lead on the track. The Danish driver employed an unconventional strategy to secure a fourth-place finish, just falling short of a podium spot.

During the race, there was an unusual occurrence in the pit lane, as Isack Hadjar was released into the path of Oliver Bearman, causing the young PREMA driver to collide with the pit wall and suffer a punctured tire. Bearman had a significant accident later in the race and ultimately finished in 15th place.

Roy Nissany of PHM Racing caused the second safety car period by losing control of his car and colliding with the wall on the second straight, resulting in significant damage to his vehicle. Nissany’s teammate, Brad Benavides, managed to finish the race in 13th place, but their team is yet to score any points this season.

Enzo Fittipaldi had a crash during the safety car period. His suspension gave out due to an earlier spin, and he narrowly avoided hitting the stationary car of Nissany as it spun out of control.


Zane Maloney, the teammate of Rodin Carlin’s aforementioned driver, had a steady weekend and managed to secure fifth place finishes in both the sprint and feature races.

Dennis Hauger had a promising race, starting from the tenth spot on the grid and making his way up to fourth position. However, his chances of a good finish were dashed when he collided with Isack Hadjar, forcing both of them to retire early from the race. Hauger’s teammate at MP Motorsport, Jehan Daruvala, crossed the finish line in sixth place, earning valuable points for the team.

Campos driver Kush Maini had another unassuming but solid weekend, finishing in ninth place in the feature race. However, Maini’s teammate Ralph Boschung struggled and could not secure any points, finishing in the 18th position.

Although there was a two-lap dash to the finish with several drivers running low on fuel and using soft tires, the top three drivers remained composed and maintained their positions till the end of the race.

Ayumu Iwasa’s victory in the feature race helped him take the lead in the championship standings, with Theo Pourchaire in second place and Frederik Vesti in third. However, Ralph Boschung’s third consecutive race without scoring any points has caused him to slip to fourth place in the overall standings.

Formula 2 Feature Race – Results, which lasted for 33 laps.

1Ayumu IwasaDAMS1h00m30.247s
2Theo PourchaireART GP+0.828s
3Arthur LeclercDAMS+1.484s
4Frederik VestiPrema+1.815s
5Zane MaloneyCarlin+5.290s
6Jehan DaruvalaMP Motorsport+6.779s
7Richard VerschoorVan Amersfoort Racing+7.107s
8Jack DoohanVirtuosi Racing+7.764s
9Kush MainiCampos Racing+8.294s
10Roman StanekTrident+10.892s
11Juan Manuel CorreaVan Amersfoort Racing+11.126s
12Clement NovalakTrident+11.593s
13Brad BenavidesPHM by Charouz+13.902s
14Amaury CordeelVirtuosi Racing+14.276s
15Ollie BearmanPrema+16.734s
16Victor MartinsART Grand Prix+17.299s
17Isack HadjarHitech GP+17.437s
18Ralph BoschungCampos Racing+24.039s
19Dennis HaugerMP Motorsport+3 laps
RetEnzo FittipaldiCarlin
RetRoy NissanyPHM by Charouz
RetJak CrawfordHitech GP

Formula 2 Championship standings


Iwasa claims victory F2 Iwasa claims victory F2 Iwasa claims victory F2