Connect with us


F2 Sprint Race Melbourne, Rain and collisions make for a dramatic race, but Hauger emerges victorious



F2 Sprint Race Melbourne Hauger dominates

In a thrilling F2 Sprint Race at Melbourne, Dennis Hauger claimed his debut win for MP Motorsport, leading every lap to the finish line.

Dennis Hauger secured his debut win for MP Motorsport by leading every lap from start to finish in Melbourne. He earned the top spot on the starting grid due to his reverse grid pole position on Saturday. Despite his fellow Red Bull junior driver Jak Crawford’s presence, Crawford was unable to pose any threat during the 22-lap race.

During the initial laps, the midfield pack engaged in highly competitive racing, but fortunately, no significant accidents took place. Arthur Leclerc, equipped with Soft tyres, made a move on Kush Maini for third place on lap seven. He briefly took the lead from the Indian driver but Maini quickly regained his position in the following braking zone.

As the race progressed, there was a looming possibility of rain, which eventually started to pour down. The situation became even more complex when Jack Doohan and Juan Manuel Correa collided on lap 14, resulting in a Safety Car being deployed. Unfortunately, Doohan was unable to continue racing, leading to a prolonged Safety Car period. During this time, some drivers chose to switch to the Wet compound by making a pit stop.

The race recommenced on the second to last lap, following Brad Benavides’ retirement during the Safety Car period. It quickly became evident that the Wet tyre was not the ideal compound for the track conditions. Despite the challenges, Hauger managed to maintain his composure and skillfully secured the victory, crossing the finish line ahead of Jak Crawford and Kush Maini.

Arthur Leclerc finished in fourth place, with Zane Maloney and Isaac Hadjar, both Red Bull juniors, finishing in fifth and sixth place respectively. On the final lap, Prema teammates Oliver Bearman and Frederick Vesta engaged in a tough battle, ultimately finishing in seventh and eighth place. Roy Nissany claimed ninth place, with Richard Verschoor completing the top 10.

F2 Sprint Race Melbourne for 22 laps.

PosDriverThe racing teamGaps
1Dennis HaugerMP Motorsport40m03.429s
2Jak CrawfordHitech GP+1.120s
3Kush MainiCampos Racing+1.716s
4Arthur LeclercDAMS+2.064s
5Zane MaloneyCarlin+2.447s
6Isack HadjarHitech GP+2.842s
7Ollie BearmanPrema+4.858s
8Frederik VestiPrema+5.299s
9Roy NissanyPHM by Charouz+5.591s
10Richard VerschoorVan Amersfoort Racing+5.759s
11Clement NovalakTrident+6.417s
12Amaury CordeelVirtuosi Racing+11.851s
13Ayumu IwasaDAMS+12.395s
14Juan Manuel CorreaVan Amersfoort Racing+16.816s
15Victor MartinsART Grand Prix+36.640s
16Roman StanekTrident+37.222s
17Jehan DaruvalaMP Motorsport+41.076s
18Theo PourchaireART Grand Prix+2 laps
RetBrad BenavidesPHM by Charouz
RetJack DoohanVirtuosi Racing
RetRalph BoschungCampos Racing
RetEnzo FittipaldiCarlin
The lap with the fastest timeDennis Hauger1m31.267s
Standings for the Championship after F2 Sprint Race Melbourne
1Ralph Boschung33
2Ayumu Iwasa33
3Theo Pourchaire32
4Frederik Vesti31
5Dennis Hauger30
6Kush Maini26
7Jehan Daruvala24
8Zane Maloney21
9Jack Doohan20
10Richard Verschoor20

F2 Sprint Race Melbourne formula 2 2023 F2 Sprint Race Melbourne formula 2 2023 F2 Sprint Race Melbourne formula 2 2023