Connect with us


Mitch Evans won the first Formula E race in Sao Paulo, where Jaguar dominated



Mitch Evans Sao Paulo

The first race in Brazil saw Mitch Evans secure victory, with Jaguar dominating the competition in Formula E Sao Paulo. Jaguar and Envision Racing dominate the Sao Paulo Formula E race as Mitch Evans secures his first victory of the season.

Mitch Evans secured his inaugural victory of the 2022/23 Formula E World Championship in a dramatic race where the podium was entirely dominated by Jaguar and their affiliated team Envision in Sao Paulo.

Previously hindered by misfortune and internal collisions, Jaguar’s luck turned around as Sam Bird, Evans’s teammate, clinched third place to complete the team’s podium sweep.

In the meantime, Nick Cassidy from Envision Racing put up a tough fight at the forefront and secured another podium finish for the team.

The start of the race was marred by pandemonium as the cars entered the first sharp braking zone of the track on the opening lap. The series of slow corners caused a pile-up of cars, resulting in several collisions.

Unfortunately, Norman Nato in his Nissan suffered the most in the commotion, colliding with Jake Hughes and damaging his car, which forced him to abandon the race and retire.

Amidst the turmoil, Edoardo Mortara also had an unfortunate encounter with Mitch Evans, resulting in him losing control of his Maserati while entering turn three. As a result, he had to veer off the track and fell behind several positions.


Stoffel Vandoorne did a commendable job of maintaining his lead during the initial laps of the race, although it came at the cost of consuming energy. He activated the attack mode on lap five, resulting in Antonio Felix Da Costa overtaking him for the lead.

In an attempt to conserve energy by drafting behind Da Costa, Vandoorne was able to reclaim the lead two laps later. He efficiently took the lead position from the Porsche driver on the straight, with minimal resistance from Da Costa.

During the initial stages of the race, being in the lead position was not advantageous for the drivers due to the strong drafting effect caused by the lengthy straights on the track.

Despite the chaotic start to the race, the first safety car wasn’t deployed until lap 8 when Sacha Fenestraz suffered an electrical failure, causing him to stop on the track. Unfortunately, this resulted in both Nissan cars retiring from the race.

Following the first safety car period, Antonio Felix Da Costa made a remarkable restart, gaining two positions during the initial green-flagged lap.

As energy conservation became crucial during the race, drivers frequently had to lift and coast on the straights to save power. Consequently, there were numerous lead changes resulting from differing energy strategies.

Unfortunately, it wasn’t long before the safety car was back on the track, as more chaos ensued at the slow-speed section of corners near the end of the start/finish straight.


This time, Jake Dennis was the victim, as he came to a stop following a collision with Dan Ticktum from behind, which caused him to hit Pascal Wehrlein, resulting in a punctured rear tyre and a broken drive shaft.

To clear the debris from multiple incidents, Race director Scott Elkins extended the safety car period.

Throughout the race, the lead changed hands frequently between several drivers, including Antonio Felix Da Costa. Unfortunately, Da Costa’s chances of winning the race were dashed when he locked up while entering turn one. He had to wait in the run-off area to avoid receiving any penalty for gaining an unfair advantage. This incident effectively ended his chances of winning the race.

Pascal Wehrlein strategically activated his attack mode very late in the race, saving his extra energy for a final push through the field. However, his strategy was thwarted by the Jaguar team, who had the advantage of being positioned around him and were able to block him from securing a podium finish.

In the final four laps of the race, Antonio Felix Da Costa tirelessly battled to regain the positions he had lost earlier in the race. He fought his way back up to fourth position by the time the checkered flag was waved.

The battle for the podium positions was intense throughout the race, with the top three drivers separated by only a little over half a second.

Despite leading for much of the race, Stoffel Vandoorne, who started from pole position, had to settle for sixth place in the end. Meanwhile, his teammate Jean-Eric Vergne was able to take advantage of the race’s chaos to secure fifth place.


McLaren had a consistent race, with Jake Hughes and Rene Rast finishing in eighth and ninth place, respectively.

All the cars powered by Jaguar’s engine earned points in the race, with Sebastien Buemi finishing in tenth position.

The Formula E Championship will resume next month with rounds seven and eight, a double-header event that will take place in Berlin.

Results of the Sao Paulo Eprix race.

19Mitch EvansJaguar
237Nick CassidyEnvision
310Sam BirdJaguar
413Antonio Felix da CostaPorsche
525Jean-Eric VergneDS Penske
61Stoffel VandoorneDS Penske
794Pascal WehrleinPorsche
85Jake HughesMcLaren
958Rene RastMcLaren
1016Sebastien BuemiEnvision
117Maximilian GuentherMaserati
1236Andre LottererAndretti
1311Lucas di GrassiMahindra
1433Dan TicktumNIO 333
154Robin FrijnsAbt Cupra
168Oliver RowlandMahindra
173Sergio Sette CamaraNIO 333
1851Nico MuellerAbt Cupra
1948Edoardo MortaraMaserati
2027Jake DennisAndretti
2123Sacha FenestrazNissan
2217Norman NatoNissan

Mitch Evans won the first Formula E race in Sao Paulo, where Jaguar dominated Mitch Evans won the first Formula E race in Sao Paulo, where Jaguar dominated Mitch Evans won the first Formula E race in Sao Paulo, where Jaguar dominated