Connect with us


E-Prix race in Cape Town ended in a thrilling and dramatic victory for Antonio Felix da Costa



E-Prix race in Cape Town

Antonio Felix da Costa, who recently joined Porsche, achieved his first Formula E win in Cape Town by showcasing an exceptional driving performance. Despite starting from the 11th position on the grid, he made two remarkable high-speed overtaking maneuvers during the race.

Da Costa’s second astounding high-speed overtaking move helped secure his victory in Cape Town, which he had almost lost due to an earlier mistake. He had failed to activate the attack mode properly during his second attempt, putting his win in jeopardy.

During the race in Cape Town, da Costa initially lost his lead to Jean-Eric Vergne, his former DS Techeetah teammate. This happened because he re-entered the racing line just ahead of Vergne, without triggering all the necessary attack mode timing loops. As a result, da Costa was forced to try again and lost his lead to Vergne in the process.

However, da Costa refused to give up and continued to relentlessly pursue Vergne. He eventually reclaimed the first position with an incredible move, taking the outside line around the super-fast kink leading into Turn 8. In a bold move, da Costa managed to squeeze through a narrow gap with slight contact and successfully regained his lead.

After the race, Vergne approached da Costa and, with a laugh, exclaimed, “I f***ing did not see you in the mirrors, man! That was a good one!”

Vergne’s second-place finish in Cape Town was a significant boost for his title race aspirations, as two of the championship leaders, Pascal Wehrlein and Jake Dennis, had disastrous races.


Wehrlein, driving for Porsche, collided with Sebastien Buemi during the first lap and was forced to retire due to suspension damage.

Jake Dennis, who was driving for Andretti, started the race from the 14th position after being penalized three places for impeding Stoffel Vandoorne during qualifying. In addition, he received a drive-through penalty for a tire pressure infringement, and eventually finished in the 13th position.

As for da Costa, his successful pass on Vergne marked his second attempt at the move, having previously overtaken Nick Cassidy with the same manoeuvre as he climbed his way up from the 11th position on the grid.

Prior to da Costa’s surge and eventual victory, the main contenders in the race were Envision driver Cassidy, Nissan’s pole-sitter Sacha Fenestraz, and Maserati’s Maximilian Guenther. They had been the leading drivers up to that point in the race.

Maximilian Guenther’s move to take the lead from Sacha Fenestraz just as the safety car was deployed due to Wehrlein’s crash left Fenestraz both perplexed and angry. However, Cassidy managed to jump both of them by delaying his attack mode activation by five laps, eventually taking the third position in the race. Although Cassidy was unable to hold off da Costa and Vergne, he still managed to secure third place.

Guenther and Fenestraz were involved in separate crashes, with Fenestraz crashing out on the final lap. Sebastien Buemi, who had fallen to the last position after colliding with Wehrlein, managed to recover and finish in the fifth position behind Rene Rast’s McLaren. Rast’s teammate Jake Hughes, who had impressed in earlier rounds, struggled on the Cape Town track, qualifying in the 13th position and finishing 10th.


Dan Ticktum, who had previously run with the leading group of drivers, finished in the sixth position for NIO 333. Stoffel Vandoorne, the reigning champion, had a less impressive performance, finishing in the seventh position.

Jaguar experienced another difficult day in the race. Mitch Evans, who had initially been in the fourth position, received a penalty for exceeding the power limit and finished in the 11th position. Meanwhile, Sam Bird was unable to start the race after a severe qualifying accident where he collided with Edoardo Mortara’s already crashed Maserati.

Although Maserati managed to repair Mortara’s car in time for him to start from the pit lane, he was forced to park his car on the first lap due to an issue. Additionally, Mahindra withdrew both their factory cars and customer Abt Cupra’s entries during qualifying due to safety concerns that were believed to be related to flexing suspension.

Here is a table summarizing the results of the Cape Town E-Prix race:

1António Félix da CostaPorsche Team32
2Jean-Éric VergneDS Penske320.281 sec
3Nick CassidyEnvision321.808 sec
4René RastMcLaren322.208 sec
5Sébastien BuemiEnvision322.656 sec
6Dan TicktumNIO 333 Formula E Team323.209 sec
7Stoffel VandoorneDS Penske324.210 sec
8Norman NatoNissan328.582 sec
9André LottererAndretti Autosport328.755 sec
10Jake HughesMcLaren3210.475 sec
11Mitch EvansJaguar Racing3214.183 sec
12Sérgio Sette CâmaraNIO 333 Formula E Team3214.914 sec
13Jake DennisAndretti Autosport3238.846 sec
14Sacha FenestrazNissan3247.613 sec
Maximilian GüntherMaserati Racing2012 laps
Edoardo MortaraMaserati Racing131 laps
Pascal WehrleinPorsche Team0

E-Prix race in Cape Town E-Prix race in Cape Town E-Prix race in Cape Town