Connect with us


Wehrlein secures consecutive wins, leads Formula E 2023



Wehrlein secures consecutive wins, leads Formula E 2023

Pascal Wehrlein and Jake Dennis, both Porsche-powered drivers, continued their dominance in the 2023 Formula E season with Wehrlein fending off a strong challenge from Dennis to secure back-to-back wins at the Diriyah E-Prix.

Porsche’s Pascal Wehrlein secured his second win in a row at the Diriyah race, beating out Jake Dennis and moving into first place in the Formula E Drivers’ Championship.

Pascal Wehrlein successfully defended his lead against Jake Dennis’ charge to claim victory for Porsche in consecutive races at the Diriyah E-Prix.

The German driver, once again, showed exceptional race pace as he navigated his way to the front of the pack and secured his second victory of the season.

Porsche works driver was able to fend off a late challenge from Andretti driver powered by Porsche, it seems that both teams are preparing to compete fiercely throughout the season.

Starting from fifth place, Wehrlein was able to advance through the field in the opening stages of the race, by carefully managing his energy, he was able to pass Sebastien Buemi, Jake Hughes and Mitch Evans.

Dennis also showed good energy management in the latter part of the race and was able to advance to second place, but despite the opportunity presented by a late Safety Car, he was not able to make a move to challenge for the win.


McLaren’s Rene Rast, who overtook Evans and Hughes in the initial Attack Mode stages, took advantage of an mistake made by Jaguar’s Sam Bird to secure third place and achieve the team’s first Formula E podium finish.

McLaren’s Jake Hughes, who began the race from the pole position but lost the lead to Evans at the beginning, was unable to match the speed of his teammate and fell to fifth place.

However, the British driver ran out of energy at the last corner of the race, seventh-place Evans pushed him across the finish line, with Buemi crossing the line in between the two drivers to take sixth place.

Sacha Fenestraz finished the race with a skillful drive, securing eighth place for the Nissan team, which earned its first points of the season in Diriyah.

Maserati made some progress in recovering from their first poor race by earning their first points of the season, thanks to Edoardo Mortara who finished in ninth place.

NIO’s Dan Ticktum earned his first point of the season by finishing in tenth place, ahead of the under-performing Porsche-powered drivers Antonio Felix da Costa and Andre Lotterer.

Formula E champions Lucas di Grassi (Mahindra) and Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Penske) finished in 15th and 16th place respectively, while reigning World Champion Stoffel Vandoorne dropped to 20th place due to late issues.


Mahindra’s Oliver Rowland and Abt Cupra’s Nico Muller were the only drivers who retired from the race, with the latter crashing into the barrier at Turn 18 and causing the only Safety Car of the race to be deployed.

Race 2 Results- 2023 Formula E Diriyah

1Pascal WehrleinPorsche
2Jake DennisAvalanche Andretti
3Rene RastMcLaren
4Sam BirdJaguar TCS Racing
5Jake HughesMcLaren
6Sebastien BuemiEnvision Racing
7Mitch EvansJaguar TCS Racing
8Sacha FenestrazNissan
9Edoardo MortaraMaserati MSG Racing
10Dan TicktumNIO 333 Racing
11Antonio Felix da CostaPorsche
12Andre LottererAvalanche Andretti
13Nick CassidyEnvision Racing
14Norman NatoNissan
15Lucas di GrassiMahindra Racing
16Jean-Eric VergneDS Penske
17Sergio Sette CamaraNIO 333 Racing
18Kelvin Van der LindeABT Cupra
19Maximilian GuentherMaserati MSG Racing
20Stoffel VandoorneDS Penske
DNFOliver RowlandMahindra Racing
DNFNico MullerABT Cupra

You may like – Wehrlein wins 2023 Formula E opener in Diriyah

Also make sure you follow us on social media FacebookTwitterInstagram  for all the latest updates between issues.