Connect with us


Newgarden steals Texas IndyCar win on final lap



Newgarden steals Texas IndyCar win on final lap

Josef Newgarden beat teammate Scott McLaughlin across the finish line at Texas Motor Speedway.

Josef Newgarden pipped long-time leader and Penske team-mate Scott McLaughlin to victory on the Texas oval with an incredible last lap overtake around the outside of the last corner

PosDriverTime / GapLaps ledPoints
1Josef Newgarden02:09:29.7270351
2Scott McLaughlin0.066918643
3Marcus Ericsson1.35371036
4Will Power15.22302033
5Scott Dixon15.673630
6Jimmie Johnson18.093928
7Alex Palou19.1937 26
8Simon Pagenaud22.464924
9Santino Ferrucci24.414922
10Rinus VeeKay25.4840521
11David Malukas26.0503 320
12Colton Herta-1 lap18
13Ed Carpenter-1 lap418
14JR Hildebrand-1 lap117
15Pato O’Ward-1 lap15
16Callum Ilott-1 lap515
17Dalton Kellett-2 laps13
18Conor Daly-3 laps12
19Christian Lundgaard-15 laps11
20Takuma Sato-108 laps511
21Felix Rosenqvist-110 laps10
22Graham Rahal-120 laps8
23Helio Castroneves-120 laps18
24Devlin DeFrancesco-120 laps6
25Kyle Kirkwood-135 laps56
26Romain Grosjean-145 laps5
27Alexander Rossi-237 laps5

Josef Newgarden is the latest winner from Texas Motor Speedway, with the two-time champion showing his skills to make a pass for the lead coming to the finish line.

Newgarden was running in second place for much of the final stint of the race, unable to get closer than one second behind his Australian team-mate.

A fortunate group of lapped traffic came around just at the right time, however, and the 31-year-old veteran was able to drive past the driver that led over two-thirds of the laps on the day.

An elated Newgarden nearly fell over climbing out of his car, and could not stop laughing during the television interviews in pit lane. The final margin of victory was only 0.067 seconds at the line.

There were multiple crashes in the middle third of the 248-lap race, leading to quite a few drivers retiring from the race early.

Takuma Sato was the first driver to hit the wall after a bump and run by rookie Devlin DeFrancesco.  Sato could drive back to the pits, but was forced to retire his car.


Only one lap after the field took the green, another rookie Kyle Kirkwood got into the traction compound in the upper lane and was not able to save his AJ Foyt Racing Chevy.  Kirkwood was able to walk away uninjured from his wrecked car.

On the ensuing restart, less than one lap was completed before the biggest crash of the race took place.  DeFrancesco made a bold move to make it three wide into turn 3, and ended up putting himself as well as Graham Rahal and Helio Castroneves into the wall.

By this point, only 19 of the original 27 cars were still running.  But the final third of the race was a great show for the fans.

There was lots of dicing back and forth among the entirety of the field, with the second groove working much better than it has in recent years.

Jimmie Johnson was making bold moves with the best of them, and powered his Chip Ganassi Racing Honda to a sixth-place finish.  The result was far better than any of his previous IndyCar efforts, and will put to rest some calls for him to retire after a long career spent in NASCAR.

Jack Harvey did not take part in the race due to no passing concussion protocol after a hard crash on Saturday.  Ferrucci got the call to fill in late Sunday morning, stepped into the car with no practice, and ended the day in 10th position.

The exciting finish could go a long way to helping Texas Motor Speedway secure a contract extension following speculation all weekend if the series will return next year.


IndyCar takes another two week break, and will return on April 10 for the Grand Prix of Long Beach.

IndyCar 2022 – McLaughlin Wins St Petersburg 

Also make sure you follow us on social media FacebookTwitterInstagram  for all the latest updates between issues.

Newgarden steals Texas IndyCar win on final lap Newgarden steals Texas IndyCar win on final lap