Connect with us


Martins wins Bahrain FIA F3 Feature Race



Victor Martins won the second FIA F3 race in Bahrain

Victor Martins won the second FIA F3 race in Bahrain. The French won his second career victory in the Formula 3 category.

He is ahead of Monegasque Arthur Leclerc (Prema Racing), Charles’ brother, and his teammate Grégoire Saucy.

Victor Martins won the opening FIA Formula 3 feature race of the season for ART Grand Prix ahead of a charging Arthur Leclerc.

A mechanical issue for Zane Maloney caused drama on the opening lap, while track limit violations denied Franco Colapinto a debut podium.

Colapinto started the race strongly from pole position with Roman Stanek close behind before the safety car was brought out for issues further back. Maloney slowed with smoke coming out of the back of his car. Francesco Pizzi was spun around, while Caio Collet ran wide to avoid Maloney and suffered suspension damage as he returned to the track over the kerbs.

On the restart Stanek came under pressure from Alexander Smolyar and the pair made contact exiting turn 10, earning Stanek a right rear puncture. Martins had already got up to second and the top two drivers pulled away from the rest of the field.

1Victor MartinsART Grand Prix46m47.389s
2Arthur LeclercPrema+1.543s
3Gregoire SaucyART Grand Prix+6.812s
4Juan Manuel CorreaART Grand Prix+9.084s
5Franco ColapintoVan Amersfoort Racing+11.193s
6Ollie BearmanPrema+14.582s
7Jak CrawfordPrema+18.765s
8David VidalesCampos Racing+23.004s
9William AlataloJenzer Motorsport+23.665s
10Kaylen FrederickHitech GP+23.843s
11Jonny EdgarTrident+26.906s
12Rafael VillagomezVan Amersfoort Racing+28.274s
13Pepe MartiCampos Racing+30.194s
14Hunter YeanyCampos Racing+33.297s
15Niko KariJenzer Motorsport+35.044s
16Ido CohenJenzer Motorsport+35.068s
17Kush MainiMP Motorsport+35.111s
18Reece UshijimaVan Amersfoort Racing+35.790s
19Zak O’SullivanCarlin+36.274s
20Ayrton SimmonsCharouz Racing System+36.792s
21Brad BenavidesCarlin+38.167s
22Roman StanekTrident+38.303s
23Alexander SmolyarMP Motorsport+38.795s
24Laszlo TothCharouz Racing System+39.952s
25Isack HadjarHitech GP+49.781s
26Enzo TrulliCarlin+1m46.611s
RetNazim AzmanHitech GP
RetCaio ColletMP Motorsport
RetZane MaloneyTrident
RetFrancesco PizziCharouz Racing System

Fastest lap: Stanek, 1m51.634s

Championship standings

1 Martins 25   2 Leclerc 24   3 Bearman 17   4 Saucy 15   5 Correa 14   6 Colapinto 12   7 Hadjar 10   8 Smolyar 8   9 Maloney 8   10 Crawford 6


Martins stayed behind Colapinto for most of the race, but slowly edged closer to the polesitter and finally made his move on lap 15 of 23,.

Colapinto almost held on but couldn’t retain the position and fell back into a battle with Leclerc, who stormed from 13th to third during the first half of the race.

Leclerc managed to take Colapinto at turn one a few laps later and was catching Martins, but ran out of laps before he could get close enough to make a move, Martins holding on to win by 1.5 seconds.

Colapinto held off Gregorie Saucy to take the podium on track, but a five-second penalty for exceeding track limits dropped him down to fifth, behind Juan Manuel Correa who had briefly been in the podium positions early in the race. Saucy started sixth after a three-place grid penalty for the contact with team-mate Martins that took both out of the sprint race but recovered to make the podium on his debut weekend.

Further back there was more drama for Smolyar. He fell back behind Correa and Leclerc but did a good job of defending against Isack Hadjar. The two ran side by side a number of times, but small contact between the two left Hadjar with a puncture.

Smolyar fell further back with floor damage, finishing eighth on track before a 20-second penalty shuffled him down to 23rd.

Ollie Bearman climbed up to sixth ahead of Jak Crawford, who had started 20th. David Vidales kept the pressure on Smolyar late in the race and, though he couldn’t make up the position on track, he finished eighth overall ahead of William Alatalo and Kaylen Frederick, who was another first-lap spinner.


You might also like

Hadjar wins Bahrain FIA F3 Sprint Race

Also make sure you follow us on social media FacebookTwitterInstagram  for all the latest updates between issues.

Martins wins Bahrain FIA F3 Feature Race Martins wins Bahrain FIA F3 Feature Race