Connect with us


IndyCar 2022 – McLaughlin Wins St Petersburg 



IndyCar 2022 McLaughlin Wins

Scott McLaughlin Wins St Petersburg for First Career Victory in Indycar 2022, he led 49 of the 100 laps, and was out of breath when he got out of his car. 

Scott McLaughlin has taken his first race victory in the NTT IndyCar Series after holding off reigning champion Alex Palou in the final laps.

The win comes one day after the Kiwi claimed his first pole in the championship, and he becomes the latest race winner for the prestigious Team Penske.

PDriverTime / GapLaps LedPoints
1Scott McLaughlin01:51:27.34664954
2Alex Palou0.5095141
3Will Power2.4671136
4Colton Herta15.844232
5Romain Grosjean18.452530
6Rinus VeeKay20.65141329
7Graham Rahal21.418126
8Scott Dixon22.02772625
9Marcus Ericsson22.367422
10Takuma Sato23.274320
11Christian Lundgaard24.424419
12Pato O’Ward26.27518
13Jack Harvey31.668717
14Helio Castroneves33.598516
15Simon Pagenaud34.214715
16Josef Newgarden36.260314
17Felix Rosenqvist39.036113
18Kyle Kirkwood58.12412
19Callum Ilott58.722311
20Alexander Rossi59.16341011
21Conor Daly1:00.13589
22Devlin DeFrancesco1:02.86138
23Jimmie Johnson-1 lap7
24Tatiana Calderon-3 laps6
25Dalton Kellett-38 laps5
26David Malukas-77 laps5

With Palou second, McLaughlin’s team-mate Will Power claimed the final spot on the podium in third place.

McLaughlin led the early stages of the race, and appeared somewhat comfortable on his tyres compared to rivals behind, managing to create a small cap. 

Andretti Autosport’s Colton Herta lost track position to Power on lap 20, following a period of calm in the opening stage of the race.

However, that changed when rookie David Malukas hit the wall on lap 26, which brought out the race’s only Full Course Yellow.

The leaders dived into the pits and were sent into the pack, while several others inherited the position at the front of the field as a result of pit stops earlier in the race. 


McLaughlin eventually shuffled back to the lead of the event and on lap 65, he made his final stop of the race, which would prove to be a crucial period with Palou sitting just behind.

Palou pitted on the very next lap, but couldn’t successfully execute the overcut and was forced to settle in behind the Team Penske driver.

The Spaniard hounded the rear of McLaughlin as the race entered its dying stages, and things became more difficult for McLaughlin in the final laps, when he caught backmarker Devlin DeFrancesco, who was not obliged to let him through.

However, McLaughlin withstood the pressure and took the chequered flag half a second ahead of Palou.

With Power third, Colton Herta was forced to settle for fourth place, ahead of Andretti Autosport team-mate Romain Grosjean.

Dutchman Rinus VeeKay capped off a strong weekend with a sixth-place finish, while Graham Rahal was seventh.

Scott Dixon’s three-stop strategy attempt failed to reap rewards, however he was the highest placed driver on that plan in eighth.


Marcus Ericsson was ninth after he was penalised for an unsafe release earlier in the race, while two-time Indianapolis 500 winner Takuma Sato rounded out the top 10.

Dalton Kellett was the only other retirement from the race, as a mechanical issue forced him into the pit lane shortly after the halfway mark.


Also make sure you follow us on social media FacebookTwitterInstagram  for all the latest updates between issues.

IndyCar 2022  McLaughlin Wins
It was only the second podium finish in 18 IndyCar starts for McLaughlin, a three-time Australian Supercars champion who had a best finish of second at Texas last year.

IndyCar 2022 McLaughlin Wins IndyCar 2022 McLaughlin Wins